From Dana

03/23/2012 06:22

We are still in Odessa as we are still waiting for Viktor's passport. We are soooo ready to be home, I can't even express this with words. But while we are still here, we are doing some important family things and we are spending great quality time with Viktor's pastor and his family. We love them so we are enjoying this, but more importantly, Viktor loves them and it's good for him to be with them as much as possible before we leave.

While we waiting to leave, I thought I'd post a copy of Dana's blog for you. You can find Dana's blog at https://danadefrees.wordpress.com/

 

For the past month I have been with my parents in Ukraine as we are adopting a 16 year old boy. It has been such a trying experience but God has shown himself powerful. It seems as if every day there is a full out spiritual war and it is exhausting in all aspects of the word. But God has never left our side. He has constantly reminded us that He is in control and His ways are higher than ours. Over and over again He has lovingly proved Himself faithful. During the past two months I’ve been spending quite some time in Genesis reading about Abraham’s incredible faith. Everyday, though my faith is tested and tried, my relationship with God is stronger because of it. I am learning to rely FULLY on Him for EVERYTHING without doubting His goodness and that He will take care of me.

Recently I received an email from my trip leader, Sarah, saying I need the majority of my trip money by April 1st! I immediately resorted to my old ways and started to freak out. Brian and I are raising
the funds together and we have no where near the amount of money we need in a short 10 days. I know God knows that so I should be fine, right? My heart knows that God is in control but my head is still trying to think logically about how we will do this. There is no way we can raise that much
money so soon. But God does the impossible, doesn’t He? He’s reminded me of countless stories in the Bible where He has done something no man could fathom. Then He showed me situations in my own life where He allowed me to do things I never thought possible. He allowed me to see past
decisions and why they didn’t work out the way I had planned. There’s no way I could’ve planned where I am today or even thought it possible. And who knows what else the Lord has done in my
own life that I don’t even know about? God is God whether I see it or not, whether I understand it or
not, whether I like it or not. I truly do not see how this task ahead of me is possible but I will not stop praying for a miracle, for His will to be done and not mine. I know without a doubt that God’s power
will show through this regardless of the outcome. I am continuing to pray for faith like Abraham.
Please join with me in praying that His will be done in all things!

 

She didn't say this, but she and Brian need several thousand for this trip. It is a 5 country trip that they will be ministering in this summer. They know God can do it; they have total faith. If it's His will, they will go on this mission trip. They just want to be in His will and be in His plan.